Oscar Project 2014: ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’

Standard

I have a lot of feelings about “The Wolf of Wall Street,” but mostly I’m just kind of mad about it. To be blunt, I don’t think it deserves to be an Oscar movie. It didn’t feel like an Oscar movie.

At first, it was fun. It threw me into the stock world, which, apparently, is full of profanity and bullying and drugs, creating an amusing bit of culture shock. The characters were all just the right amount of crazy to keep me laughing.

It wasn’t long, though, before I got tired of it. I got tired of the profanity, the bullying and the drugs. I got tired of the constant objectification of women, the gratuitous nudity and general lack of respect. I got tired of people behaving terribly with little to no consequences.

And then, after I hit the point of being way over the movie, it kept going for another hour. I thought it would never end.

I’m not saying “Wolf of Wall Street” had no merits. The music was good. The performances were good. It was visually pretty fun to look at.

Again, though, I just don’t think it’s an Oscar-worthy movie. It felt like a movie for 20-something guys who just wanted to sit through a few hours of profanity, nudity and drug-driven shenanigans. Compared to all the strong contenders in the Best Picture category this year, “Wolf of Wall Street” just doesn’t belong.

My verdict: Did not enjoy. Will not watch again. Might recommend to a few people, but would tell most to skip.

Oscar-nominated for: Best Picture, Best Actor (Leading), Best Actor (Supporting), Best Director, Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay).

Rookie opinion: Personal dislike aside, I don’t think “Wolf of Wall Street” will win anything. The competition’s just too strong.

One thought on “Oscar Project 2014: ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’

Leave a Reply

