Noms: Banana Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies

Standard

IMG_2033I’ll admit it: I’m a total cheater when it comes to breakfast. I like eggs and oatmeal and waffles and all of those real breakfast foods; however, I also like sleeping (read: I oversleep a lot!). So, most days, breakfast ends up being whatever I can grab and eat fastest. Which, embarrassingly often, means I’m eating cookies for breakfast.

That’s why I was pretty excited to see a recipe for cookies that are actually meant to be eaten for breakfast. How perfect is that?

One of my favorite food bloggers is Sally from Sally’s Baking Addiction. She has a lot of great dessert recipes, but she’s also pretty dedicated to healthy eating. These cookies have no sugar, no butter, no eggs, no flour. I made them a little less healthy by using peanut butter instead of her original almond butter, but they’re still a whole lot better for you than Oreos!

Here’s your visual shopping list. There’s nothing crazy in these cookies — the only ingredient I didn’t already have in my house was honey.

IMG_2020

You’ll need:

  • Bananas, mashed — the riper, the better!
  • Honey (or pure maple syrup, as used in the original recipe)
  • Peanut butter (or almond butter, as used in the original recipe)
  • Quick oats**
  • Salt
  • Cinnamon
  • Chocolate chips (Original calls for dark or semi-sweet chocolate — I only had milk chocolate, so I used those, and they tasted fine!)

**Please note that the recipe calls for quick oats, which are sort of a ground-up version of normal oats. I usually use normal ones for cookies, but the quick ones definitely work better here.

IMG_2026

Those are normal oats on the left, quick oats on the right. You want the quick ones!

To make the cookies, just mix everything together…

IMG_2022

Peanut butter + mashed banana + honey = so much flavor!

 

Drop the dough onto a parchment-paper lined cookie sheet and flatten them a bit…

IMG_2024

These cookies won’t spread, so flatten and shape how you want them! I used about 1/4 cup dough for each cookie, but I’ll make them smaller in the future.

And bake for about 15 minutes, until the cookies are brown around the edges. So easy! I think it took me about 40 minutes to make these, including cleanup, and I ended up with about 18 cookies.

I made these Wednesday, and I was still eating them Friday. After a few days in a well-sealed container, they were still moist, and the flavors were even more intense.

All in all, I was extremely happy with these cookies. I enjoyed them, and the five or six people I shared them with liked them, too. I’ll definitely make them again.

Get the full recipe over at Sally’s Baking Addiction.

One thought on “Noms: Banana Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies

Leave a Reply

