Kitchen tips: Always use the Google

Standard

20140510-135351.jpg

The other night, I faced a conundrum. My roommate had left me some overripe bananas, which means, naturally, that I was determined to make banana bread when I got home from work. But it was too late to go to the store, and all my standby recipes were not going to work. Gabby’s needed milk. Sally’s needed yogurt. What to do?


The answer, obviously, is use Google to find a new recipe. There are so many recipes online that I can almost guarantee that whatever special need you have, be it skipping or substituting an ingredient, there’s something out there for you to use – go find it!

You can go broad – search “banana bread” and read them all to find one without milk – or go specific – search “banana bread without milk.” Whatever works. Just try something! Don’t let rotten eggs keep you out of the kitchen πŸ™‚

After much searching, I found a great chocolate chip banana bread (shown above) at The Cooking Geek. I ended up with a new banana bread recipe under my belt, a new blogger on my favorites list, and a tasty breakfast πŸ™‚ Thanks, Google.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen tips: Always use the Google

  1. Thank you so much for the kind review. Your banana bread looks perfect! I have not made it in a really long time, much to the dismay of me husband, Maybe I should change that soon haha!

    I don’t know if you like peanut butter, or peanut butter cups, for that matter, but once I made this with those little tiny peanut butter cups, the ones that are like half the size of a Hershey’s kiss. It was the most sinful dessert I have ever concocted! If it sounds like something you might like I urge you to try it.

    I also agree with you about Google being the best cooking buddy. While I learned a whole lot and got started cooking thanks to my mother, I have learned more from simply Googling recipes and techniques than anywhere else. With a little patience and determination, I think anyone, with the help of the internet, can cook anything.

    Cheers!

    • Hello! Thank you for your thoughtful comment, and for the great recipe. I love your suggestion of peanut butter cup banana bread. I actually have some mini peanut butter cups that I bought from Trader Joe’s months ago and can’t decide how to use β€” maybe they’ll find their way into some banana bread πŸ™‚ Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

