Noms: Cherry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Standard

2015/02/img_4497.jpg

Food-wise, there are few things that are a bigger treat for me than Country Ovens dried cherries from Door County, Wis., one of my favorite places on Earth. I can only get them a few times a year, so when I do, I try to make them count. That used to mean eating them carefully, rationing, so they lasted. Now it nearly always means baking.

I got a bag of cherries as a gift a few months ago and stashed it in my baking box, waiting for a special enough occasion to bake the cherries into something great. One finally came along, so, at last, cherry chocolate chip cookies. Let me tell you, they were worth the wait.

Dried cherries are bigger and moister than a lot of raisins, so they bring a lot of flavor. And with the chocolate chips? A+. I’m hoping to get dark chocolate chips for next time, but for today, these are just wonderful. Yum.

The recipe’s just the tried-and-true one from the Quaker oatmeal lid. Can’t beat it. 🙂

What’s your favorite limited-time treat? What small food joys do you treasure?

Transparency note: No one paid or asked me to say anything nice about these cherries! I’m a lifelong fan. No dried cherries come close to Country Ovens’.

Leave a Reply

